Happy New Year

Cathy and me on New Years EveHappy 2014 everyone.  I hope everyone had a great New Year’s Eve and I hope you are not suffering this morning.  We went to a very nice New Year’s Eve party in Bethesda, Maryland.  It was actually in a firehouse but the room looked like a hotel ballroom.  The food was the best buffet style food that I have had in a long time.  We stayed in a hotel close by last night and drove home this morning.  We don’t drink so we are not dealing with any ill affects today.  It was a very good night with some very nice people.

I can’t believe it is 2014.  I’m an old guy and I guess everyone my age wonders where the time went.  I remember when the year 2000 was too far in the future to contemplate and now there are kids that don’t remember the twentieth century.  Oh well, such is the lament of the senior citizens.

Well it is resolution time.  What are we resolving this year.  Of course the classic is losing weight; I work on that one every year.  I’m in a pretty good position this year; I didn’t let my weight get too out of hand.  If I lose four or five pounds I’ll be good, but I have plenty of other things to work on.  I use two motivators to keep me healthy.  They are ego and abject fear of health problems.  I will be blogging about my use of fear as a motivator in a future blog.

This blog is one of my resolutions.  I love to write but I am a total loser when it comes to doing something with my writing.  I am resolved to make more people aware of my novels and to work harder to get them out there.  Working hard is a problem for me.  Since I have retired I have been very skilled at avoiding anything that looks like work.  I don’t consider writing or martial arts work.  I do consider my yard work, but I have no choice there.  This year I will make at least an attempt at getting my writing out there.  We’ll see how I do.

I have plenty of other things to work on like helping with the laundry more; I really don’t know why I haven’t been doing that.  Also there is keeping up with friends and family.  I can be an old curmudgeon at times and I have to avoid getting into that mode.

How about you?  Do you have any resolutions that you need to make?  Resolutions aren’t easy to keep.  You are generally talking about changing habits that have been with you a long time.  Be it losing weight, stopping smoking, or changing your work ethic; it is a very hard and a very long process.  With things like weight loss, it’s a matter of not giving up even if you have a set back.  If you dive into a pizza during a playoff game, chalk it up to a temporary lapse and keep on going.  It is easy at that time to decide that the resolution is over and to go back to old habits.  If you just call it a set back and move on, you will find that that’s exactly what it was, a minor blimp in your progress.

Okay, let’s get into 2014.  Tell me how you’re doing and I’ll tell you how I’m doing.  Sometimes having someone to report status to helps to keep you on track.  See you next time.

 

MSN.com

About

Pete is a retired software developer, a writer, and a martial arts instructor. He lives in Maryland with his wife Cathy and they are enjoying their retirement. Pete is the author of four novels, "The Teacher", 500 Years from Home", and "The Long Journey Home" are available at Lulu.com; and "Pioneers" in available at the Kindle Book Store.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

