What are Your Favorite Movie Quotes

A few days ago my son got everyone quoting lines for the movie “Jaws.”  It is amazing how many great lines came from that one movie.  What were your favorite quotes from the movies?  I’m an old guy so most of my favorite quotes come from movies that are at least twenty-five years old.

People have had favorite quotes from movies since talkies were invented.  You can go back to Bogie say, “Here’s looking at you kind.,” or Brando saying, “I could have been a contender.”  There are a million lines that we remember.  Some we remember because they are repeated over and over again, and some because they stick in out heads for some reason.  Everyone remembers the classic quotes like the sheriff in “Jaws” saying, “I think we need a bigger boat.” The line from “Jaws that I remember the most is, “I like to go swimmin with bow legged women.” Maybe it’s a reflection of my personality, who knows.

Maybe we can break it down by decade.  Starting in my memory I would have to start in the fifties.  I didn’t see many movies in the fifties, but I saw most of the monster movies of that era.  I remember the classic, though not all that good, movie called “Them.”  It was a movie about giant ants taking over.  It was a common theme in the fifties to create giant monsters based on atomic radiation.  In this movie the army goes to question a man in a detoxification ward about seeing a giant at and he starts singing, “Make me a sergeant in charge of the booze.”  It was goofy but it stayed with me.

The sixties had too many great movies to mention and I saw my share.  It’s hard to pick one movie that I liked best.  As for a quote for the sixties I’d have to go with a line from “Goldfinger.”  When James Bond asked Goldfinger if he expected him to talk and Goldfinger says, “No, Mr. Biond, I expect you to die.”

The seventies was a great decade for movies.  There were classics and very genre.  The new special effects made the screen come alive with action and adventure.  One of my favorite lines from the seventies was from the movie “Patton” when old George says. “I don’t expect you to die for your country, I expect you to make that other son of a bitch die for his country.”

The eighties really ramped up the action movies and gave us images on the screen that we never thought were possible.  Who can forget Arnold in “The Terminator” saying, “I’ll be back.”

The nineties contained some of my favorite movies of all time.  Topping the list is “The Usual Suspects.”  That was a movie with a great ending.  But my quote doesn’t come from that movie.  I most remember the classic scene in the courtroom with Jack Nicholson and Tom Cruise in “A Few Good Men” and Jack saying, “You can’t handle the truth.”

The century brought us more drama and excitement.  We saw “Lord of the Rings” which brought in a new era of fantasy stories.  I will never forget Sean Penn’s role in “Mystic River.”  The quote for the new century has to go to “Gangs of New York” when the man in Tammany Hall says, “You have to avoid the appearance of doing anything illegal, especially when you’re doing an illegal thing.”

In this decade I am having a hard time coming up with a quote that stuck with me.  I have seen a lot of good movies but there hasn’t been a line that stuck in my head.  Maybe you have one.  I know there were clever lines in many movies including “RED,” those guys were rather witty.  I just can’t think of a one that stood out.

That’s my list.  What lines stuck in your mind?

About

Pete is a retired software developer, a writer, and a martial arts instructor. He lives in Maryland with his wife Cathy and they are enjoying their retirement. Pete is the author of four novels, "The Teacher", 500 Years from Home", and "The Long Journey Home" are available at Lulu.com; and "Pioneers" in available at the Kindle Book Store.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Entertaiment, Movie quotes, Movies

Leave a Reply

