The 666th Dawn

I thought it was time to throw in a little fiction.  This is what they call a short short.  It is a very short, short story.  Some short shorts can be as a little as 250 words.  This one is about 750 words.  It does have a Wilkes-Barre connection.  The characters in this story are supposed to be from Wilkes-Barre.  One line even indicates that the devil visited Wilkes-Barre once.

Fiction writing is what I really enjoy doing.  That and martial arts have been my main interests since I retired.  Here is “The 666th Dawn”.  I hope you like it.

Someone was knocking at the door. Jack groaned, “Who the hell comes knocking this early in the morning?” He rolled out of bed, slid on a pair of warm up pants and headed toward the door. Looking through the eye hole Jack got the surprise of his life. He quickly unlocked the door and flung it open. He stared at the thirty something blonde and just said, “Lisa.”

“Hi Jack, long time no see huh.”

“Lisa, my God, where did you come from? The last time I heard, you were out west. I heard you hit it big in Vegas and you were on the greatest lucky streak of all time.”

Lisa responded, “I’m sorry I know this is a terrible time, and I know I have no right to be here, but I need your help.”

Jack stepped away from the door allowing Lisa to enter. There were so many questions that he had but he thought he had better find out what she needed.

“Jack,” Lisa started right in, “do you remember our little trip into the mountains when we were sixteen?”

“Sure,” Jack said, “we had a hell of a time and we were lucky that no one saw us running around naked in the woods.”

“Do you remember the things we found?”

“You mean the little dagger and the little coins. That was weird stuff. You kept most of it didn’t you?”

“Yes,” Lisa said her voice becoming a bit shaky. “You kept the coin with the horns and the star on it. Jack, do you have it?”

“I don’t know Lisa that was a hell of a long time ago. I know I didn’t throw it away.”

“Is it here,” Lisa asked; her voice becoming desperate.

“I don’t know, maybe. Why?”

“Jack today is the equinox and it is the six hundred and sixty-sixth equinox since the coins and the dagger were created.”

“Where did you get information?”

Lisa winced in pain and quickly pulled up her sleeve, “This is where Jack.”

“Jack stared as the pentagram glowed fire red for a few seconds and disappeared. All he could say was, “What the hell is that?”

“Hell is right Jack and I’ll tell you but we must find that coin right now.”

Jack got up a moved toward this bedroom. Lisa followed. She panted more as she spoke, “Everything had gone so well for me since I left Wilkes-Barre because I was visited by a hooded man; at least I thought it was a man. He offered to make all of my dreams come true as long as I protected the coins and the dagger until the dawning of the six hundred and sixty-sixth equinox. He said he would come for them and he would take them or my soul. I thought I had it covered; I put the items in a safety deposit box and I didn’t give them another thought until yesterday morning. It wasn’t until I picked them up that I remembered that you kept one coin.”

“That’s not the only thing you forgot,” Jack couldn’t control his response.

“I’m sorry Jack and I don’t what happened to me. Once I made that deal it was like everything in my past disappeared but I’ll beg your forgiveness later. Right now I need that coin.”

Jack dug to the bottom of the last box in the closet and said, “I’m sorry Lisa, the coin is not here.”

Lisa began to cry, “Please Jack help me.” She winced again and this time Lisa’s entire arm glowed red and the pain lingered longer. “Jack it’s less than an hour till sunrise; please tell me there is somewhere else to search.”

Jack talked as he threw on a sweatshirt and put on his sneakers, “My car, there’s a box in it that I brought from home.”

They raced to Jack’s car and Jack dug his hand into the box until his fingers finally felt the coin. Jack grabbed it and tossed it to Lisa.

Lisa caught it. She straightened up and smiled. “Thank you Jack, you’ve just given me a child.”

“What?”

“I needed the full set to fulfill the prophecy. I will carry the one; the Anti-Christ. I will reign as Queen of the world until my master takes it for his own.” Lisa stepped toward Jack and, in one swift motion, plunged the Devil’s dagger in his chest.

“Leave this world now,” Lisa said as Jack slumped to the floor of the parking garage, “for it is no longer yours.”

About

Pete is a retired software developer, a writer, and a martial arts instructor. He lives in Maryland with his wife Cathy and they are enjoying their retirement. Pete is the author of four novels, "The Teacher", 500 Years from Home", and "The Long Journey Home" are available at Lulu.com; and "Pioneers" in available at the Kindle Book Store.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Entertaiment, fiction, Writing

Leave a Reply

