How About a Ton of Snow for Valentine’s Day

http://www.lulu.com/shop/search.ep?type=&keyWords=Peter+Maida&sitesearch=lulu.com&q=&x=10&y=10
These are my novels on Lulu, please check them out.

St. Valentine's Day

St. Valentine’s Day

I planned to say a few words about Valentine’s Day today but I just came in from shoveling that stuff off my driveway and my walks.  I do have a snow blower but it died when I hit several inches of water under the snow at the end of my driveway.  From then on it was shoveling the old fashion way.

We live at the end of a col-de-sac that makes it tough for the workers on the snow plows.  Now I want to be clear.  I have great respect for the men and women that work on the snow plows.  These people work twelve hours at a time keeping our roads clear and I can’t thank them enough.  It is not their fault that there is nowhere to put the snow.  Unfortunately when you live at the end of the col-de-sac most of it is going to end up in front of your driveway and it is going to block the drain in front of your house.  This leaves a mountain of snow at the end of your driveway sitting on several inches of ice water.  The water is what killed my snow blower.  Again, this isn’t the fault of the snow plow drivers.  They tried very hard to put most of the snow away from my driveway, drain, and mailbox; but there is only so much that they can do.  In any case, I got a better workout in front of my house that I would have if I made it to the gym this morning, which I didn’t.

Okay, on to Valentine’s Day.  Saint Valentine was a man that lived in the third century in Rome.  He is identified with the creation of courtly love.  Valentine wasn’t born on February 14; he actually died on February 14.  Why didn’t they use the man’s birthday?  Why did they use the day he died.  I really don’t know the answer to the question, but let me play devil’s advocate.  February 14 is exactly in the middle of February, and February happens to be the most miserable month of the year.  Things like that aforementioned snow happen regularly in February, what more do I have to say?  This misery makes people want to just hang around the house and watch TV.  Our economy doesn’t want people watching TV; they need them out shopping, going to dinner, and going to shows.  Good old St. Valentine fills that bill nicely.

This doesn’t mean that I think expressions of love are silly.  I love, love.  I’m in love with love.  I have been in love for over twenty-four years.  Cathy and I are in love and we show it every day.  At random times on any given day there will be random acts of affection.  Hugs and kisses come out of nowhere.  So do the words, “I love you,” but no only those words.  There are also words like, “Thank you for all that you do,” and sometimes those words are even better.

We don’t feel the need to give each other gifts.  We have full faith in each other when it comes to money.  We found out a long time ago that we are both fiscally conservative and we understand the value of a dollar. As a result all our bank accounts our joint accounts.  We can buy anything we want, anytime we want.

I sure you’re thinking that the point is one person going out and finding that special thing that their significant other would like.  That may be so but I would rather we give each of the gift of financial freedom and complete trust.  So that is my take on Valentine’s Day.

About

Pete is a retired software developer, a writer, and a martial arts instructor. He lives in Maryland with his wife Cathy and they are enjoying their retirement. Pete is the author of four novels, "The Teacher", 500 Years from Home", and "The Long Journey Home" are available at Lulu.com; and "Pioneers" in available at the Kindle Book Store.

Tagged with: , , , , , , ,
Posted in Life and Love

Leave a Reply

