Did you ever get a dinner check at a restaurant for over $100,000.00?

http://www.lulu.com/shop/search.ep?type=&keyWords=Peter+Maida&sitesearch=lulu.com&q=&x=10&y=10

These are my novels on Lulu, please check them out.

This is one of those things that you read about online that you may not quite believe and you certain don’t think that it would ever happen to you.

Cathy and I were out yesterday taking care of some business in Waldorf, MD.  It was a beautiful day in the Maryland suburbs of Washington, DC.  It started cool but when the sun came out, it went into the sixties, and the coats were left in the car.

We had several places to go and, by the time we were finished, it was getting close to dinner time.  We stopped at the Olive Garden in Waldorf.  This is one of my favorite places to have a meal.  Being of Italian heritage I can’t get enough pasta.

Let me say that this little story is not a knock on Olive Garden.  They are a great restaurant with good food and fine service.  This could have happened anywhere.  We sat down and looked over the menu.  Cathy wanted the Garlic Rosemary Chicken but she didn’t want the normal side.  The service was very helpful in assisting Cathy in deciding on a substitute side dish.

I always get their minestrone soup as a starter; it is one of my favorite soups.  Cathy had the salad and, of course, the breadsticks are always good.  Our entrées came, I had chosen Chicken Parmigiana and it was very tasty.  Cathy enjoyed her chicken and the side worked out very well.

When we were ready to leave I asked for the check.  The server brought the check to the table and I was more than a bit surprised at the total bill.  It is not every day that you are charged $106,035.36 for dinner.  Heck, I think even movie stars and people like Bill Gates don’t generally pay that much for one dinner.

Image

 

I just looked at our server and said, “I thought the meal was very good, but I didn’t think it was this good,” and I showed her the bill.  We all got a good laugh out of it.  It is a great souvenir.  Check out the sales tax of $6002.00.  I’m sure that would have been a record collection of a sales tax on one meal in Prince George’s County, Maryland.  I’m sure our server would have been happy with a $20,000.00 tip but I don’t think my credit card limit is quite that high.

It was just one of those little moments in life that you don’t forget.  This is definitely one receipt that I will be holding on to.

 

About

Pete is a retired software developer, a writer, and a martial arts instructor. He lives in Maryland with his wife Cathy and they are enjoying their retirement. Pete is the author of four novels, "The Teacher", 500 Years from Home", and "The Long Journey Home" are available at Lulu.com; and "Pioneers" in available at the Kindle Book Store.

Tagged with: , , , , , ,
Posted in Entertaiment

Leave a Reply

